Friday, December 19, 2014

Great sites for students and families

Language Arts Sites:

•       Harvard's Writing Center — http://isites.harvard.edu/icb/icb.do?keyword=k33202

•       Little Explorers Picture Dictionary — www.enchantedlearning.com/Dictionary.html

•       Merriam-Webster Word Central — www.wordcentral.com/

•       Online Textbook Series - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing — http://www.thinkcentral.com/index.htm

•       The Write Source — www.thewritesource.com/

Math Sites:

•       AAA Math — http://www.aaamath.com/

•       Dr. Math — http://mathforum.org/dr.math/dr-math.html

•       Education 4 Kids — www.edu4kids.com/

•       Figure This! Math Challenges — www.figurethis.org/challenges/math_index.htm

•       FunBrain.com — www.funbrain.com/

•       Math.com — www.math.com/

•       Mrs. Glosser's Math Goodies — www.mathgoodies.com/

•       Webmath — http://www.webmath.com

Science Sites:

•       Bill Nye the Science Guy — http://www.billnye.com/

•       Exploratorium — http://www.exploratorium.edu/

•       National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) — www.nasa.gov/

•       Science Pioneers — www.sciencepioneers.org/
•       American Memory - Library of Congress — http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

Reference Sites:

•       Biographical Dictionary — www.s9.com/

•       Citing Electronic Information, William Patterson University — www.wpunj.edu/library/citing.htm

•       Fact Monster from Information Please — www.factmonster.com/

•       InfoPlease — www.infoplease.com/

•       MapQuest — www.mapquest.com/

•       Merriam-Webster Word Central — www.wordcentral.com/

•       Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary — www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary.htm

•       Merriam-Webster Online Thesaurus — www.merriam-webster.com/thesaurus.htm

•       National Geographic Map Machine — http://maps.nationalgeographic.com/maps/

•       National Geographic Xpeditions — www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/

•       U.S. Census Bureau — http://www.census.gov/geo/www/gazetteer/gazette.html

•       World Time Server — www.worldtimeserver.com/

Social Studies Sites:

•       American Memory - Library of Congress — http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

•       National Geographic Kids — http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

•       National Museum of the American Indian - Smithsonian Institute — www.nmai.si.edu/

•       World Flag Database — www.flags.net/



Hitting the Target with our Advanced Learners

     Fairy Tale: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/main.html

     Current Events: http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/news/index.htm

     http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/

Sudoku: http://www.printactivities.com/Kid_Sudoku_Puzzles/Kid_Sudoku_Puzzle_L1_01.html

Game boards: http://jc-schools.net/tutorials/gameboard.htm

Graphs: http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx

Literature Studies: http://www.kyrene.org/schools/brisas/sunda/litpack/litstudy.htm

HM Challenge Spelling Words:

    Grade 2: http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/hmr/pdf/gr_2.pdf

    Grade 3: http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/tnc/pdf/gr_3.pdf

    Grade 4: http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/tnc/pdf/gr_4.pdf

    Grade 5: http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/tnc/pdf/gr_5.pdf

ODE TAG Website: http://www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=2328

HM Extension activities (select grade and theme, then extension): http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/tnc/